Introducing G{Code}’s Changemakers: Bethlehem A-N M.

G{Code}
3 min readAug 2, 2021

In June 2021, the G{Code} team launched the third cohort of Intro to G{Code}, a 10-week program designed for young female and non binary folks of color to uncover interest and aptitude in tech within a supportive, inclusive, and safe environment. The Intro to G{Code} Change Makers have shown us their drive, adaptability, and innovativeness as well as their commitment to community and personal growth. We are beyond proud of our Change Makers who have just graduated from the program, and are thrilled to celebrate their achievements and share some of their stories.

Today, we celebrate Bethlehem A-N M.! Bethlehem lives in Cambridge, MA and we have loved her curiosity and dedication to the cohort! Read more about her journey below.

Why did you join G{Code}?

I joined G{Code} with hesitation as my experience with prior tech programs hadn’t been the most welcoming to people who look like me. I am so glad I overcame the fear of moving forward. At G{Code} I was able to put aside my doubts and insecurities as a Black woman in tech largely due to the fact that I was now surrounded by many faces that looked like mine. There’s no better feeling than able to openly ask questions and express my frustrations with code without feeling that it would come off as “lack of knowledge”. Coming fresh out of a boot camp where I was one of the only black woman present, I can’t express how comforting that was.

What is a favorite moment or memory from G{Code}?

My favorite memory from G{Code} has to be a moment when we were learning new material and I felt stuck. For whatever reason, this code kept running as an error and I started getting a little frustrated with myself for it. That’s when mentor Aizhan came into our breakout room and asked me to share my screen. She too couldn’t quite put her finger on it, so we decided to delete the tag in all and start over. She was so patient with me throughout the whole ordeal and even privately messaged a few encouraging words in our group chat. I also had a very similar experience with Grace who also sent me some very encouraging words as well. It may seem small, but coming from a “concrete jungle” version of a tech program, it helped me see the kinder side of tech that I had yet to experience. It showed that even in tech, human connection is valued and very much needed..

What have you learned about yourself or about coding? How has participating in G{Code} impacted how you see yourself and/or your future?

G{Code} has taught me that imposter syndrome among in tech, especially among women of color in the tech, is nothing to beat yourself up over. It’s a normal feeling in a field where little-to-no one looks like you or comes from the same life/educational paths as you have. With my experience thus far in tech, I realized that I became one to “figure things out on my own”, making asking questions my last resort because I didn’t want my “lack of knowing” to possibly be used as “leverage”, but G{Code} showed me that asking for help only leaves space for improvement. There really is no such things as a big, small, or silly question in tech.

G{Code} is a visionary non-profit striving to empower Boston’s young women of color by providing them with housing, technical training, leadership development, internship placements, and a resilient and compassionate community to learn from and grow alongside. Many thanks to Bridgette Wallace, Rizel Bobb-Semple, Bailey Siber, and the rest of the G{Code} team and volunteers for making the Intro to G{Code} program a success!

--

--

G{Code}

Empowering Boston’s young women and non binary people of color via technical training, intentional community, and stable housing. https://www.thegcodehouse.com/